Let's Talk Physics

A stochasticly updated blog about interesting topics in Physics & Astronomy

Famelab 2014 (It’s time for a comeback)

About a month ago, a friend of mine told me about the Famelab competition. For those of you who don’t want to click the link, it’s a public speaking competition where people passionate about science have to try and explain a topic to a public audience in 3 minutes without any slides and the option of using a single prop.

Seeing as I ran a relatively successful blog on Physics last year, I decided to give the Munser Heat a shot, and took the blog post on How It’s All Going to End Part 5, bought a packet of balloons, and created a quick 3 minute talk about the Big Crunch and the Big Freeze.

The competition was great, and the standard of talks was incredibly high. We had talks on DNA, florescent lights, Crop management, the curvature of the Universe, evolution, food and addiction, nanotubes and the Big Bang.

I came 2nd (the talk on DNA won, it really was an excellent public talk). I really am delighted, as it means I’ve qualified for the Irish Semi-Finals at the end of March (the overall goal of this competition is to send someone to the Cheltenham Science Festival in June and have them win the competition for Ireland again). And it got me thinking about this blog, and what it’s done for me (from chatting to Bill Nye last year and now a master-class in science communication in Dublin) it’s been a great experience.

So with that, I hope to make a few entries over the next month or so. One will have my video from last night, and then there will be a few more posts around the time of the semi-finals next month.

When I go and try qualify for the national finals next month, I’ll know I didn’t really get myself there. You did, the people who read this blog and supported me. Thank you. And with that, I’m delighted to say I think my inspiration for public outreach is back. Let’s Talk Physics will resume.

Shortly. 🙂

About irishphysicist

I'm a PhD student with the Departments of Physics in University College Cork, Ireland and University of Notre Dame, Indiana. I want to try and bring astrophysics to the public, and also would like world domination. But that's a story for another day.

3 comments on “Famelab 2014 (It’s time for a comeback)

  1. Joe Bailey
    February 26, 2014

    Great job Mark, looking forward to seeing the video.

  2. Thomas Kelly
    March 11, 2014

    Congrats.

    Also, you were chatting to Bill Nye? I’m jealous!

  3. irishphysicist
    March 11, 2014

    Thanks Thomas! And yeah, he was a pretty cool guy. Exactly like he is on TV.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2014 by in News and tagged , , , , .
